Trophy Winners

Creasy Cup

The Creasy Cup was made in London by C&S Co. Ltd. in 1950 and presented to RMGC by Sir Gerald Creasy KCMG KCVD OBE who was Governor of Malta from 1949-1954.

The following Rules of the “Creasy” Cup are as intimated by Sir Gerald Creasy on the 19th January 1954. The original rules are available in a framed print in the Putters Inn.

The cup is to be competed for annually in handicap match play according to the Rules of Golf as issued by the Royal and Ancient Golf Club, St Andrews, and the Local Rules of the Royal Malta Golf Club.

Players are to play off three-fourths of their full Club handicap.

Semi-final and final matches are to be refereed.

The following rules are to govern the Calcutta Sweep and Auction.

Sweepstake tickets are to be sold at a cost of € 1.50 each (25 tickets for € 25) within the precincts
of the Marsa Sports Club. They may only be sold to members of the RMGC. This sale can start
up to 4 weeks ahead of the dinner.

A dinner to be attended by Gentlemen only will be held on a suitable day each year at a suitable venue, the date to be announced by the Competitions Committee. After dinner, sweepstake counterfoils and the names of the players are to be drawn one for one and entered in a tally sheet. The player will immediately be auctioned to the highest bidder. This will continue until all the players have been drawn and auctioned. Ticket-holder will receive half the auction price of each player for whom tickets are held.

The draw for the competition will be made the next day after the Hangover Cup. Only Creasy Cup dinner attendees may play in this competition.

A sheet will be placed in the Golf Clubhouse showing details of the auction and advising all amounts of money due to and from Members.

A player has the option to purchase from the owner a half-share in him but this option MUST be claimed before playing his first game. He will signify his intention by signing the sheet and the financial arrangement is personal between himself and the owner.

Prize money is to be assessed in the following way:
For owner/joint owner of Winner – 50% of half the total auction money
For owner/joint owner of Runner-up – 30% of half the total auction money
For owner/joint owner of each Semi-Finalist – 10% of half the total auction money

Apart from the competition money, the winner and runner-up will be presented with a token trophy commemorating their win. The balance of the competition fund is to be credited to the accounts of the RMGC to assist in furthering the cause of golf in Malta.

Ticket holders and Owners are at liberty to sell their holdings or part of their holdings at any time but the financial implications are a personal matter and debits and credits are to be collected and paid in accordance with the sheet.

The competition is open to players who are over 18 at the time of the Creasy Cup Dinner.

Past Winners:

2022N. Laferla
2021N. Simpson
2020Not Played (Covid)
2019S. Dodd
2018R. Gray
2017C. Stergar
2016E. Cranley
2015J.J. Micallef
2014J.J. Micallef
2013R. Crossley
2012N. Beck
2011N. Hall
2010D. Debono
2009A.P. Borg
2008N. Beck
2007J. Payne
2006K. Waddington
2005N. Laferla
2004P. Satariano
2003N. Laferla
2002A.P. Borg
2001C. Mitchell
2000W. Alcock
1999W. Alcock
1998J. Payne
1997S. Leslie
1996A.D. Constant
1995D. Cummings
1994W.L. Friesen
1993A.P. Borg
1992C.A. Borg
1991J.M. Holland
1990R. Beekman
1989G. Falzon
1988G. Falzon
1987S.N. Borg
1986J. Borg
1985J. Borg
1984N. Spiteri
1983Col R.W. McLain (USAF)
1982T. Cummin
1981A. Zammit
1980A. Zammit
1979Surg. Capt. J.C. Benson (RN)
1978C.L. Satariano
1977C.L. Satariano
1976F.R.E. Vella
1975J.B. Andrews
1974Surg. Capt. J.C. Benson (RN)
1973G.H.B. Hicks
1972R. Marshall
1971W.D. Mouncey
1970Surg. Capt. J.C. Benson (RN)
1969Lt. Cdr. M. Whyte
1968The Rev P.O.W. Levingston
1967Fl Lt. D.H.A. Greenway (RAF)
1966Fl. Lt F.J. Stuart (RAF)
1965C.W. Hendy
1964Fl. Lt. R.D. Johnstone
1963Surg. Capt. A.E. Flannery (RN)
1962J.H. Hughieson
1961Capt.N.J.M. Bebb
1960Capt. J Findlay
1959A.B. Maule
1958Lt. Cmdr Boyd (RN)
1957Vice Admiral Cato D. Glover (USN)
1956Maj. M.M. Lewis
1955Mr. Gubbins
1954Cmdr. May (USN)
1953Mr. Gubbins
1952Lt. Cdr. P.G. Merriman (RN)
1951Surg. Cmdr T.F. Miles (RN)