Trophy Winners

RMGC Club Championship

This competition was inaugurated in 1963 and is now the premier competition of the season, closing the official calendar. Sponsored by IIG Bank since 2010. The original ‘Individual Champion’ Trophy was presented to the club in 1963 by Rear Admiral David William Maurice Boyle C.B. D.S.C, Viscount of Kelburn, later 9th Earl of Glasgow who was Flag Officer Malta 1961-63. This trophy became fully inscribed and was in 2008 replaced with the trophy above.

  • Played over three consecutive days (Friday, Saturday and Sunday).
  • Aggregate medal played off scratch.
  • On Day 1 all players will play off the first tee. Players will be seeded according to their Division. A random draw will be applied for players within each Division.
  • The best 27 gross scores + ties will qualify to play on Day 2 of the Championship.
  • The best 20 gross aggregate scores + ties from Day 1 and 2 will qualify to play on Day 3 of the Championship.
  • On Days 2 & 3, the players with the best scores will play off the first tee in reverse order and i.e. the players with the best scores will go out last.
  • The winner of the Championship will be the player with the best gross aggregate score over the three days.
  • In the event of a tie, the result shall be decided by a play-off by the play off/sudden death procedure as laid down in paragraph 8c of the Open Competitions Rules.
  • Prizes are given to: Winner and Runner Up.

Past Winners

1963 Maj. R Stark (REME)
1964 S. Biron
1965 Lt. Col. H.B.C. Davies (RASC)
1966 E. Hamilton Hill
1967 P.R.V. Deed
1968 Sgt. B. Turnbull (RAF)
1969 The Rev P.O.W. Levingston
1970 The Rev P.O.W. Levingston
1971 S/Ld N. C. McLean
1972 Cdr R.J.H. Stephens
1973 Surg. Capt. J.C. Benson (RN)
1974 Flt. Lt. I. Shellern
1975 L.J. Reilly
1976 A. McLure (RAF)
1977 N.C. Urpani
1978 C.L. Satariano
1979 Ian Martin
1980 R. Marshall
1981 T. Cummin
1982 G. Falzon
1983 A. Zammit
1984 P.R. Redman
1985 N.C. Urpani
1986 C.L. Satariano
1987 S. Wadley
1988 J. Tabone
1989 G. Falzon
1990 A. Zammit
1991 M.J. Donlan
1992 D.J. Gibson
1993 S. Flodder
1994 W.L. Friesen
1995 P. Stoner
1996 J. Dawson
1997 J. Garden
1998 J.A. Gough
1999 W. Alcock
2000 A. Zammit
2001 W. Alcock
2002 A.P. Borg
2003 A.P. Borg
2004 P. Stoner
2005 P. Satariano
2006 T. Vella
2007 C. Robson
2008 A.P. Borg
2009 A.P. Borg
2010 A.P. Borg
2011 A.P. Borg
2012 J.J. Micallef
2013 A.P. Borg
2014 D. Holland
2015 R. Critien
2016 A.P. Borg
2017 A.P. Borg
2018 R. Critien
2019 L. Schulze Döring
2020 Not Played (Covid)
2021 R. Critien